M3.7 earthquake in northwest Tennessee shakes New Madrid Seismic Zone up to Kentucky, Missouri and Arkansas – Largest quake to hit the Fault in more than a year!


A M3.7 earthquake hit Wednesday morning at 5:54 a.m. seven miles north-northwest of Dyersburg, Tennessee at a depth of nearly nine miles. It’s the largest earthquake to occur in the New Madrid Seismic Zone in more than a year. A 3.6 magnitude earthquake occurred in January 2018 just outside Caruthersville, Missouri.

tennessee earthquake april 24 2019, tennessee earthquake april 24 2019 map, tennessee earthquake april 24 2019 video, tennessee earthquake april 24 2019 reports
M3.7 earthquake in Tennessee map on April 24, 2019. Earthquake map by USGS

An earthquake in northwest Tennessee this morning could be felt all across the eastern part of the state. The tremor could be felt as far east as Jackson and in parts of Kentucky, Arkansas and Missouri.

The quake was originally reported as a 3.6 before being upgraded to a magnitude 3.7 by the U.S. Geological Survey.

More than 1000 people reported feeling the quake on the USGS homepage. A woman in Covington, Tennessee explained that it shook enough to wake her up.

You can clearly see the signal of the quake (green) on the seismometer of the NWS Memphis:

There is no report of injuries or damage following the earthquake in the New Madrid Fault Line.

New Madrid Seismic Zone

The New Madrid Seismic Zone , sometimes called the New Madrid Fault Line, is a major seismic zone and a prolific source of intraplate earthquakes (earthquakes within a tectonic plate) in the southern and midwestern United States, stretching to the southwest from New Madrid, Missouri.

The New Madrid fault system was responsible for the 1811–12 New Madrid earthquakes and has the potential to produce large earthquakes in the future. Since 1812, frequent smaller earthquakes have been recorded in the area.

Earthquakes that occur in the New Madrid Seismic Zone potentially threaten parts of eight American states:Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, Arkansas, Kentucky, Tennessee, Oklahoma and Mississippi.

Follow us on FACEBOOK and TWITTER. Share your thoughts in our DISCUSSION FORUMS. Donate through Paypal. Please and thank you


Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.